Meet our Members: Emma Watson

Hi, my name is Emma and I have been in the company for nearly 10 terms after joining in Autumn Term 2012. I had been in another drama company for a long time before Stage2 but I got too old to attend.  However,I still wanted to do drama. One of my friends from primary school was a member at the time suggested I join. On my first day I was super nervous as I was going from a group of 8 to a company of 150. However, the Mentors were so lovely and helpful throughout the day.

Emma

In my first couple of terms I did the General Drama workshops to build up my confidence and learn new skills. I found the General Drama workshops a great way to settle in to the company as they weren’t as much work as the show but still hard work and good fun. In my third term I did my first show of ‘Tower Block Trio’. Tower Block Trio was such an amazing term and I feel it was the term that really got me involved with the company. I was amazed on how much was actually involved in the show and how it was done in such a short amount of time. Everything was so well explained it didn’t matter if it was your first show or your 20th. It made me regret not doing a show sooner.

In the Spring Term I plucked up the courage to audition for ‘Why is John Lennon wearing a skirt’. It was such a lovely atmosphere in the audition room and everyone was really positive afterwards. Unfortunately, I didn’t get cast but I had such an amazing time in chorus anyway.

Recently, I did a year of Offstage workshops. I found Offstage really useful and I learnt so many skills that I will be able to use in the future such as how to write a personal statement and how to budget. This Autumn Term I became part of the Mentor Scheme and going for it was one of the best decisions I have made. The scheme has really helped me with many things such as time management and planning. Also, this Autumn Term I got cast in the World Premiere of Claire Dowie’s show ‘Hard Working Families’ it’s been such an amazing term with so much done and we’re only at half term. I’ve done so much in such short amount and I can’t wait to see what my future in Stage2 brings.

Leave a comment